Algorithmic Arithmetic Geometry

The research group `Algorithmic Arithmetic Geometry' studies number-theoretic (or `arithmetic') properties of algebraic varieties like algebraic curves or surfaces that are defined over the rational numbers (or more general algebraic number fields). The set of rational points on such a variety is an important arithmetic invariant, and it is an interesting problem to describe its structure. In more down-to-earth terms, we are looking at the set of solutions in rational numbers of a system of algebraic equations. If we have one equation in two variables, then the solutions in question are the rational points on a curve. There are theoretical results that imply that the set of rational points on a curve always has a finite description. We are interested in the algorithmic aspects: How can we actually find this finite description for a given curve? Is this always possible? And what happens if we consider higher-dimensional varieties instead of curves?

Coding Theory

The research group `Coding Theory' studies linear codes using methods from combinatorics, algebra, finite geometry and combinatorial optimization. A linear code is a subvectorspace or a submodule of a finite ambient space. One of the most interesting question comes from the application: how good is such a code if we fix the size of code and the size of the ambient space. How big is minimum distance or equivalently how many errors can be corrected if we use this code for the transmission of messages. In many cases we were able to construct the currently best known codes. The next step is to show that such a code is optimal, meaning that it is impossible to construct a code with higher minimum distance.
A new aspect is coding theory for networks (like the internet). Here we are faced with new questions, as the communication which we want to secure against errors using coding theory is no longer a point to point communication, as we may have many senders and many receivers (like TV-streaming, distributed storage).

University of Bayreuth -

Algorithmische Arithmetische Geometrie

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Algorithmische Arithmetische Geometrie“ beschäftigt sich mit zahlentheoretischen („arithmetischen“) Eigenschaften von Objekten der Algebraischen Geometrie wie algebraischen Kurven oder Flächen, die über den rationalen Zahlen (oder allgemeineren algebraischen Zahlkörpern) definiert sind. Eine wichtige Frage ist etwa die nach einer Beschreibung der Menge der rationalen Punkte auf einer algebraischen Varietät. Anders ausgedrückt, geht es um die Lösungen in rationalen Zahlen eines Systems algebraischer Gleichungen. Handelt es sich zum Beispiel um eine Gleichung in zwei Variablen, sucht man nach den rationalen Punkten auf einer Kurve. In diesem Fall gibt es theoretische Resultate, aus denen folgt, dass die Menge der rationalen Punkte auf einer Kurve stets eine endliche Beschreibung hat. Wir interessieren uns für die damit zusammenhängenden algorithmischen Aspekte: Wie kann man diese endliche Beschreibung für gegebene Kurven tatsächlich finden? Ist das immer möglich? Und wie sieht es aus, wenn man statt Kurven höherdimensionale Varietäten betrachtet?

Codierungstheorie

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Codierungstheorie“ untersucht mit Methoden aus der Kombinatorik, Algebra, endlicher Geometrie und der kombinatorischen Optimierung lineare Codes. Dies sind entweder Untervektorräume oder Untermoduln eines endlichen Umgebungsraums. Eine wichtige Frage ergibt sich dabei aus der Anwendung: Wie gut kann ein solcher Code bei fest vorgebener Größe des Codes und des Umgebungsraums sein, d.h. wie hoch ist die Minimaldistanz, d.h. wie viele Fehler können korrigiert werden. In vielen Fällen gelang es aktuell beste Codes zu konstruieren. Ein weiterer Aspekt ist dann auch zu zeigen, dass man optimale Codes gefunden hat. Hierzu muss man zeigen, dass es unmöglich ist eine höhere Minimaldistanz zu erreichen.
Ein neuer Aspekt ist die Codierungstheorie in Netzwerken (wie z.B. dem Internet). Hier gibt es völlig neue Fragestellungen, da die mittels Codierungstheorie zu sichernde Nachricht nicht über einen Punkt zu Punkt Kanal übertragen wird, sondern wir eventuell mehrere Sender und mehrere Empfänger haben (z.B. TV-streaming, distributed storage).

Universität Bayreuth -